Tags

,

Don’t Forget the Songs-365: Mach Four: Day 001
Wed. Jan 1, 2014

“I’ll Be Back”
Elliott Smith

2003

“♫ I
told you
once
before
goodbye/
but I came
back again ♫”

side wave Elliott
My first post of 2014 will be my last in a long while. I initially started Don’t Forget The Songs 365 to spark myself to write every day as a way to obtain my goal— to be accepted into grad school. Now that my dream has come true, I need to keep all my focus on Graduate School. Grad School had become my full time job and my energies needs to be on my studies, my writings and my soon to be field study position.

I leave you with one of my favorite Beatles covers of all time. Recorded during the From a Basement on the Hill sessions, Elliott was one of the biggest Fab Four fans. You may recall Smith recorded a rendition of “Because” for the American Beauty soundtrack. Remembering a quote from William Todd Schultz’s Torment Saint, one of Elliott’s former bandmates and friends Pickle described the multi-talented Smith as “Elliott was John, Paul and George and we were all Ringo.” Pickle’s quote perfectly reflects Elliott’s cover of “I’ll Be Back.” Not only is Smith playing all the instruments but at the end, my favorite part, is hearing Elliott, inspired by the Beatles Anthology outtakes of the late nineties, taking on the voices of John, Paul and George blaming each other for “messing up” this near perfect take.
tumblr_m7ogd7aHe41qhsywno1_400
I’m not saying good-bye forever; I don’t know how long I’ll be gone, so let me just so long for now. Think of this farewell as an extended sabbatical. Thank You to all my readers, my friends, my family and especially my wife for all the feedback, kind words and support during my Don’t Forget the Songs-365 adventure. I will miss posting songs every day but my grad school duty calls and I gotta accept the charges.

Happy New Year!
1611503f6b164d297bdcfc24184a3b24

