Tags

,

Don’t Forget the Songs-365: Mach Tres: Day 268
Mon. Dec 23, 2013

“Happy Xmas (War is Over) [featuring the Harlem Community Choir]”
John Lennon & Yoko Ono/Plastic Ono Band

1971

“♫ And
so this is
Christmas
♫”

How can I forget this time of year, when I was younger, wrapping paper would be rolling around us, with bows, as the X-mas tree was lighting us, but I would spread with my head dreaming inside the vinyl sleeves. If it was Christmas time, Beatles music always heard coming from the large stereo speakers of my parent’s home. I remember how I would watch the needle land on the vinyl imagining it was Santa landing on the record to bring us the Fab Four music I loved to hear.

Did you realize, Lennon was inspired to pen his peaceful anthem using the lyrical lesson he used while recording Imagine, when he explained, “Now I understand what you have to do: Put your political message across with a little honey.” Did you also know, Lennon also claimed he wrote this Happy holiday song “because I was sick of White Christmas.

I know I’ll never tire of spinning Happy Xmas. Lennon song was always one of my favorites, and one we must have played on my parent’s record player over and over again, so much that my Papi thought we’d wore off the grooves from the vinyl; luckily we never did and every December I would bring out this record and spin all of John & Yoko’s yuletide glory all over again.

“Happy Xmas” always brings me back when I was younger wearing Santa’s oversized hat and sung all of John’s songs with all the cheer. My favorite part is singing along to the Yoko and Harlem choir’s harmonies. Speaking of, how about Yoko’s harmonies? “Happy Xmas” is definitely her best on any of John’s songs! You can feel the love and joy in Ono’s vocals. Happy Xmas to all my readers, enjoy your holidays and have a happiest of New Years!

