Tags

,

Don’t Forget the Songs-365: Mach Tres: Day 202
Mon. Aug 26, 2013

“Here Today”
Paul McCartney

1982

“♫ Didn’t
understand
a thing/ but
we could
always
sing…
♫”

Released two years after John Lennon’s death, “Here Today” was Paul McCartney’s emotional Tug of War tribute to his murdered best friend and songwriting partner. The amazing thing about Macca’s tribute to John is that you can dedicate this song to anyone who has passed away. Paul described “Here Today” in Bill Harry’s The Paul McCartney Encyclopedia as “One of the feelings you always have when someone close to you dies like that is that you wish you could have seen him the day before to square everything up and make sure he knew how much you really cared.”

One of the most moving sections of “Here Today” is when emotionally, Paul finally ‘let’s go’ lyrically and sings, “I am holding back the tears, no more.” Such a very honest and human moment that anyone who’s lost a loved one can relate to. That section of Paul’s song was based on a real moment that he shared in John Blaney’s Lennon and McCartney: Together Alone, when Paul explained, “That night we cried was a real night when [Lennon and I] been diverted in Jacksonville down South. We stayed up all night and we got drunk and got into each other’s characters. We never had enough time to do that with The Beatles […] And we ended up crying.”

In our family we’ve cried a lot together and alone this past year. It’s been a tough one that started, a year ago today, in the worst way, with the loss of our beloved cat and my feline best buddy Lucy. I still can’t believe that she’s gone. I remember I used to sing to her all the time. Every song I crooned to her would have a specific line that I would improve to honor our lovely cat. I’ll never forget the day she passed away. It took days for me to even want to hear any music at all. Every song reminded me of her. I know Paul McCartney wrote this for John Lennon, but the genius thing about “Here Today” is that the lyrics are so perfectly written you can offer this song to anyone who has passed away. And so today we dedicate this song to Lucy! We miss you and we’ll never forget you. Lucy, you will always be in my songs.
388562_234017043340932_631664014_n
226804_129646963777941_4083171_n

I actually had the honor of seeing Paul McCartney perform his tribute to John Lennon in New Orleans, La. Here’s a very lovely acoustic version from Macca’s Back in the U.S. tour in 2002.

