Tags

,

Don’t Forget the Songs-365: Mach Tres: Day 157
Fri. July 5, 2013

“Everybody’s Gotta Learn Sometimes”
Beck

2004

“♫ Change
your
heart look
around
you
♫”

Many Beck Hansen fans may not know this but one of this Los Angelino native’s regrets was not finishing school. Having grown up in East Los Angeles, when Beck wasn’t spend his time trying to not get beat-up, Hansen lost himself within the worlds of literature as he told The Daily Telegraph in 1997, “I was a kid who was in love with the idea of books before I could even read them. The education system in America depends on where you grown up. In my part of L.A. it was completely backward. I remember being in an English class, aware of being taught the same thing year after year. It never went anywhere and there was nothing interesting. But I knew there were interesting things out there and I knew there were possibilities.”

Beck discovered his possibilities while learning about folk music, in Julian Palacios book Beck: Beautiful Monstrosity, Hansen described his love of folk when said, “It didn’t sound good when I tried to play a pop song—it sounded good when I tried to play a folk song, so I got into that kind of music. I wasn’t conscious of this at the time, of course, but in retrospect I realize I gravitated towards music that was a relic from another time, music that had substance, whereas everything else around me was phony. I was totally lost in that music. It’s how I learned to play the guitar. That was my world growing up.”

It was that folk music esthetic that Beck has carried with him creatively through out his dynamically eclectic career. When recording the cover of 1980’s Korgis song “Everybody’s Gotta Learn Sometimes, “ With Jon Brion producing, Beck went back to his early roots to conjure up a very laid back 21st Century folk sound to breathe new live into Korgis pop song. Beck talked about how folk music gave me the strength to cover songs when he explained in Rob Jovanovic’s book Beck: On a Backwards Rover, “It should just become your own song. That’s what I like about folk music. It’s just everybody’s songs and everybody can take a song and reinterpret it their own way.”

In 2004, Beck went into the studio and crafted a one of a kind rendition turning this once Korgis pop gem into a post modern day classic. It’s that dreamy quality that matches with director Michel Gondry and screenwriter Charlie Kauffman’s tripped out world in Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. Who else but Beck could craft a cover for a Michel Gondry film? One thing Beck has learned from his days a folk artist is not only to inhabit songs but to take them over and make them his own. After hearing Hansen’s cover, this rendition is the ultimate version of “Everybody’s Gotta Learn Sometimes.”

For those of you lovers of Eternal Sunshine or you may be one of the few rediscovering this Beck masterpiece for the first time, I urge you to lie back, close your eyes and let “Everybody Gotta Learn Sometimes” drift back inside the musical interpretive genius of Beck Hansen.

