Tags

,

Don’t Forget the Songs-365: Mach Tres: Day 128
Thurs. June 6, 2013

“Valentine”
Tricky

2013

“♫ My
Funny
Valentine
♫”

The artist, my namesake, originally born as Adrian Thaws… you may know him by his more infamous num de plume—Tricky, has returned with a new record label !k7 and a new album, False Idols, that reaches for the heights of his most triumphant album Maxinquaye. Tricky claims False Idols is his best album ever better than his debut masterpiece Maxinquaye, when he explained, “Of all my records, the majority of people are into ‘Maxinquaye’… That’s because it was a time and a place. Maxinquaye was a part of their life. Some people say it was the soundtrack to their youth. You can’t challenge that. But musically this is a better album.”

Tricky has faith in False Idols but is it really better than Maxinquaye? Maybe not but thanks to cuts like “Valentine;” Idols is definitely Tricky’s best album since his 1995 debut. Tricky talked about why it took so long for him to surpass the genius of his magnum opus when he said, “I was lost for ages. I was trying to prove something to people, trying to do something to please other people and also myself at the same time, which is never going to work. To be honest with you, I’ve been floating around since Chris Blackwell and Island. My last two albums, I thought they were good, but I realize now they weren’t. This album is about me finding myself again.”

One of the most dynamically memorable cuts on False Idols is Tricky’s 21st Century take on Chet Baker’s “My Funny Valentine,” talking to Fact Mag.com; Tricky explained the inspiration of this vintage jazz tribute when he said, “Bjork. I was in a relationship with Bjork, and I don’t think it was a good relationship for her. I wasn’t good. She played me that song, and I think it was me trying to salvage something good from our relationship, because it was not a good time for her. I feel bad about that, because she was so good to me and so nice to me. She played me that one day in her house, and I can remember exactly where and what she was wearing and where we were in the house. So I think sampling that was me trying to salvage something beautiful form it. And maybe it’s an apology to her…I learnt a lot from Bjork, and that was why I sampled it. It was me trying to give a gift back. She said to me once: “Never learn to sing. Never take a singing lesson.” I said, “Why?”. And she said, “You’ve got weird melodies, and if you learn it will change it.” She always used to say that to me, and she knew me better than I knew myself.”


It seems like Tricky went back using a very private memory as an insight to specifically recording a lyrical ode to his relationship with Bjork. We’ve all had these moments, some too intense to expound on at the moment but years later with eyes of reflection, these breaths of intimacy come flashing back and inspire a song many years after that beautiful time has expired. But that’s why we have artist’s like Tricky who honor their past with their snapshot timeless trip hop beats that capture that moment with such breathless honest intimacy , it’s like we were there experiencing the flame between Bjork and Tricky.
2013-03-31

Relive the passionate purity of Tricky’s “Valentine.” Feel the beats of this heartfelt beauty—Vivid, passionate and 100 % pure Tricky. With the help of a Chet Baker sample, our favorite trip hop king returns; get ready for the smoky anthems of lost love and obsessed desire. Tricky gets slyly romantic reliving False Idols’ most intimate moment; so eloquent, the ripples of Tricky’s love affair with Bjork still burns and now lives eternally within the evocative sounds of his erotic “Valentine.”

