Tags

,

Don’t Forget the Songs-365: Mach Tres: Day 108
Fri. May 17, 2013

“Swingin’”
Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers

1999

“♫ I
knew
I could
count on
you
♫”

I woke up today with 1999’s “Swingin'” in my head this morning. Hearing this gem today reminded me what Tom Petty told Paul Zollo talkin about Echo’s improvisational gem that is “Swingin’” when he said, ““Swingin’” is a good one. I actually ad-libbed it completely. That is the writing of the song. Yeah. […] We not only ad-libbed it, I mean Howie sang that back –up part live, and it all just came down. It was really a thrill. I didn’t even know this song, and it was done. It was a record.”

All we have to do is trust Tom Petty. He knows. He’s lived it. Its simple just listen for the signs and the magic will find you. Besides, “I Won’t Back Down,” “Swingin’” is probably the best advice Tom Petty ever gave on record. When life knocks you down, you have to get up off the mat and fight back— “Swingin’”…always remember Petty’s eternal Echo…don’t ever give up!

