Tags

,

Don’t Forget the Songs-365: Mach Tres: Day 013
Wed, Feb 06, 2013

“Possibly Maybe”
Björk

1994

“♫ uncertainty
excites me/baby/
who knows
what’s going to
happen?
♫”

I woke up with “Possibly Maybe” dancing in my head this morning. “Maybe” is one of the few Björk songs that I possibly love every version studio, remix and live available. After leaving The Sugarcubes and releasing her first successful Debut LP, “Possibly” signaled a change in Björk’s writing, as she explained when she said, “The first unhappy song I wrote was ‘Possibly Maybe.’ That was very hard for me. Usually I write all the time, but that was like nothing happened for months. Then the song came out. I was ashamed writing a song that was not giving hope.”

“Possibly Maybe” was inspired by the romance and break up between Björk and her former paramour video director Stephanie Sednaoui as she explained in Ian Gittins book, Björk: There’s More To Life Than This: The Stories Behind Every Song, “It was a nine month period where I fell in love, went all the way to the bottom, found out it wasn’t really love, went up again, walked out of the water, got a towel, dried myself and walked away. I was trying hard to write about this period in my life, and it was so difficult.

“Possibly Maybe” is the sound of two lovers contemplating falling back into the flames of their intense desire. There’s hope that this spark would rekindle the fire but unfortunately, all that happens is that the gap between you becomes winder – lost in splendor of naked mistrust.

“Possibly Maybe” is a song that I can really do roller-coaster rides on and just go for it vocally. It’s one of the first songs that I wrote but didn’t hold my voice back. For me, and this is why I play it live almost every time, as a singer I can really use my voice as an instrument.” Björk’s voice sounds like a glorious orgasmic chorus coming to life and “Possibly Maybe” is no exception. Björk’s clever sultry serenade is a combustible glimpse inside the seductive genius that is “Possibly Maybe.”

Did you know that the original incarnation of “Possibly” was more acoustic in flavor as Björk explained when she said. “Actually, it was supposed to be a country song – an ambient country song – and when I first wrote it, we got a slide guitarist in. I’m not sure it ended up as one but that’s where it started. We were thinking about that song by Chris Isaak.”

I would love to hear the original slide guitar Icelandic country-esque flavor of Björk’s original demo. For now we can bask in the glow of “Possibly Maybe,” resounding little rhythmic rendezvous within the whispered enigmatic lusciousness of Björk’s secret lusty language. No Maybe’s, this fifth single from 1995’s Post could “Possibly” be one of top five classics in Bjork’s eclectically electric song canon.

Post Video version: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pK0lXnzYWsg

“Possibly Maybe [LFO Remix]”: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VLPeQoWuHXo

“Possibly Maybe [Live]” : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wLXktosxMEs

