Tags

,

Don’t Forget the Songs-365: Mach Tres: Day 010
Sat, Jan 26, 2013

“Angie”
The Rolling Stones

1973

“♫ Oh/
Angie/ don’t
you weep/ all
your kisses still
taste sweet/ I
hate that
sadness
in your
eyes
♫”

It begins with Keith Richards’ tender acoustic like rain drops taking me, painting me back with chords in pictures of that overcast night. It’s amazing how some songs from The Rolling Stones Goats Head Soup evoke some very vivid memory of distant lovers past. “Angie” reminds me of this one night, a former paramour was going to meet me at a bar in Lincoln Park. I remember walking outside to meet her in the rain and the way we tried shielding the wind away, from our bodies, reflected something deeper.

I still can feel it, and hear it just there in the distance like Jagger’s ghost guide vocal that Mick and Keith left in, unburied from a lost take. Just like we tried finding that spark within each other as lovers, yet, somehow, it felt like we were trying to vanquish the coldness we were feared facing, flickering on the inside. Just like the aching poignancy in Mick’s vocal, all I was selfishly trying to do was the expunge the eternal sadness from her wanted eyes; I didn’t help, after we parted, I just left her more wanting, filled with longing she could never hide.

Mick Jagger said it best, “I don’t know. That was one of Keith’s songs (laughs). I just filled in the gaps.” As the vinyl ends, I lift it back to the beginning when we first crackled, splashing puddles, as we stumbled together, reliving the glory of chords like rain drops, spinning, “Angie” dreaming; wondering with these ripples clouds at least she can’t say we never tried.

