Tags

Don’t Forget the Songs-365: Mach Dos: Day 299
Thurs, Nov 8, 2012

“Get Off Of My Cloud”
The Rolling Stones

1965

“♫ because
you feel so
good/ do you
have to drive
me out of
my head?
♫”

I’ve always said that the perfect soundtrack for driving around Los Angeles is listening to The Rolling Stones. Even though The Stones are a UK band and New York may have claimed Jagger, Richards, Watts and Wyman for their own fair city, our City of Angels definitely owns a stake in the Stones mythology. In 1965, Mick and Keith wrote “Get Off Of My Cloud” in Los Angeles.

I often thought it was Jagger who came up with the melody for “Cloud” but I was mistaken as Mick told Rolling Stone Magazine in 1995, “ [“Get Off Of My Cloud”] was Keith’s melody and my lyrics… It’s a stop-bugging-me, post-teenage-alienation song. The grown-up world was a very ordered society in the early ’60s, and I was coming out of it. America was even more ordered than anywhere else. I found it was a very restrictive society in thought and behavior and dress.”

Often overshadowed by its predecessor, the 1965 hit smash “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction,” “Get Off Of My Cloud” is one of the quintessential hits from the sixties. What makes “Cloud” so memorable is one of Keith Richards celestial riffs that makes you feel like you’re soaring in the air with drummer Charlie Watts’ arousing back beats making you “Get Off” with a sound so addicting you have no choice but to let yourself go to these funky rock ‘n soul rhythms of The Rolling Stones.

Unfortunately, originally Keith Richards wasn’t fond of “Cloud” as he once famously explained, “I never dug [“Get Off Of My Cloud”] as a record. The chorus was a nice idea but how do you follow Satisfaction?” You can understand Keef’s annoyance at some record company suit requesting another hit single, as an artist to someone who’s never created anything, it would make you feel very pessimistic about attempting to recreate the magic of composing another number one song? But later on in his bestselling biography Life, Richards seemed to warm up to the greatness that was “Cloud” when he wrote, ““Get Off Of My Cloud” was a reaction to the record companies demands for more—leave me alone—and it was an attack from another dimension. And it flew as well.”

So get off the couch and get into your car and crack up one of the classic’s from 1965! “Get Off of my Cloud” is my theme today, thank you Glimmer Twins for recording this single. And this my friends is the perfect example in the power of a classic rock song, “Get Off Of My Cloud” is a hit that makes me finally naturally high, turn up the dial and let Keef’s riffs and Jagger’s reflective lyrics lift your mind skyward and beyond in every way imaginable. The Stones will be your guide, so let yourself go, enjoy the trip.

