Tags

,

Don’t Forget the Songs-365: Mach Dos: Day 289 Sunday, Oct 28, 2012 “Gypsy” Fleetwood Mac 1976 “♫ Dreams of loneliness/ like a heartbeat, drives you mad/ In the stillness of remembering what you had/ and what you lost/ and what you had/ what you lost ♫” Dreams remind me of riding in the passenger side of the car and staring out the window, and those thoughts that float in glimmers of the past. All the promises the glimpses of forever from former paramours that were promised but never came to fruition. [ In 1997, I once gave a girl my heart and she gave me a pencil. At least Cusack got a pen in Say Anything.] Do you remember how real and honest those words and pledges felt back then and now those words were just prologues to a truer story. But it doesn’t change history or make what happened a long time ago, in a galaxy—far, far away any less real. Stevie Nicks once said, talking about her Fleetwood Mac song “Dreams,” “Love affairs are timeless, I mean, they don’t change. That’s why these songs [on Rumours] are timeless, I think. And that’s why they’re timeless to me and that’s why I can walk out on the stage today and still sing them… and still feel the same way as when I wrote them is because I can remember so how I felt at that point, and I can remember the tears, and I can remember how hard it was for me to play Dreams the first time, for the whole band, because I know it would probably really upset Lindsey, and probably really upset Chris and John, and probably really upset Mick and really upset me. And if I could even get through it I’d be lucky.”

Now that I live in Southern California I can truly appreciate Fleetwood Mac and “Dreams.” There’s calmness, an understanding when you live in the west coast because of the beautiful weather, you try not to take things so seriously. There’s also this beautiful honesty an ode to past failings that poignant and honorable without being petty. “Dreams” is a realistic song about loss but there’s a silver lining hidden in the lyrics as Stevie Nicks once explained, “I always put something at the end that says there’s hope. You know, ‘When the rain washes you clean you’ll know.’ And that’s an old Indian [Native American] custom…that if it rains ~ something like that ~ when somebody dies, if it rains their spirit is set free.”  Through loss comes understanding, forgiveness and most of all is the remembering. “Dreams” brings all these themes to light in Stevie Nicks brilliantly penned Fleetwood Mac song from Rumours. Nicks once described “Dreams” as, “Dreams was about Lindsey and I ~ it was me trying to be philosophic once again, Whether or not I succeeded I don’t know. I love the song Dreams. I never get tired of singing Dreams.” I never get tired of Nicks and are connecting with her lusty longings on wax. One spin with my favorite Rumours song, those days alone and nights of loss in “Dreams” will ring true—let Stevie’s tribute sing us proud tonight. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mrZRURcb1cM One of the most covered Fleetwood Mac song, here are two of my favorites: My wife described this last “Dreams” cover as more Avant-Garde, this one is a more modern rendition by The Kills. I love Allison Mosshart’s original sultry interpretation, turning “Dreams” into a lusty song of longing. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W7St2Gz3PTc And finally, absolutely worth downloading is a live recording from Ryan Adams Whiskeytown! Ryan’s voice echoes Lindsey Buckingham’s so much when I hear the original I could swear its Ryan Adams singing background. No video clip but Whiskeytown’s live “Dreams”cover is available at an mp3 store near you.

