Tags

,


Don’t Forget the Songs-365: Mach Dos: Day 228

Tues. Aug 27, 2012

“Love is Stronger Than Death”
The The

1993

“♫ How could
you believe that
the life within the
seed that grew arms
that reached / and a
heart that beat/ and
lips that smiled/ and
eyes that cried/ could
ever die?
♫”

“Love is Stronger than Death” is one of the most moving songs ever penned by The The’s Matt Johnson also included the guitar and harmonica of Johnny Marr. Marr spoke of his time recording Dusk with The The when he said, “Dusk … is one of the few records I’ve made that I can detach from and just enjoy as a listener. I don’t listen to anything after I’ve made it. As soon as it goes out I’m almost pathologically working on the next one in my mind, wherever it’s going to come from. But Dusk I continued to listen to for quite a long time afterwards. think Dusk is one of the best records I’ve been involved in.”

Inspired by the Biblical quote (Song of Solomon 8:6): “Set me as a seal upon thine heart, as a seal upon thine arm: for love is strong as death; jealousy is cruel as the grave: the coals thereof are coals of fire, which hath a most vehement flame.” At first spin, “Love is Stronger Than Death” may echo sounds of heartbreak but dig deeper and you will find true treasured enlightenment. Richard Carmen expanded on this in his book Johnny Marr, when he wrote, “[…] perhaps [Matt Johnson’s] most personal piece of work. “Love is Stronger than Death” was one particular favorite of Marr, a difficult song for Johnson, concerning as it does the death of Eugene Johnson, one which captured the writer’s intention perfectly. Rather than indulging in melancholia, the song is remarkably positive and optimistic, Johnson’s vocal at once tender and strong, the lyric intense but couched in images of blue skies, springtime, beating hearts and smiles.”

Although, I’m still mourning the“ loss of my feline best friend Lucy, Love is Stronger than Death” is one reflects a beam of hopefulness over our time of grief. A perfect and most touching song for today. Sit back and revel in the glory of The The’s Matt Johnson with The Smiths Johnny Marr on guitar and harmonica, turn your sadness into beautiful streams of optimistic grooves. Thank you Matt and Johnny for making this difficult day, for me, shine just a little towards the brighter.

