Tags

,

Don’t Forget the Songs-365: Mach Dos: Day 227
Mon. Aug 26, 2012

“Lucy”
Julian Lennon

2009

“♫ We still
love you, Lucy
you know
I do
♫”

I don’t remember the last time I cried this much? We lost our lovely chubby cat Lucy this weekend. She died in her sleep. Somehow she knew it was her time, on Saturday night, she was being so sweet, she was in her own way, saying good-bye to us. The next morning. We woke up and she was gone.

My best friend is gone. She’s been next to me, my right hand kitty for years. I used to sing chubby songs, every song I turned into an ode to Lucy. She loved it when I sang to her. A lot of these songs that I’ve written about I’ve song to her. This one, rightly so, was one of her favorites. “Lucy” is a Julian Lennon’s idea of a follow up song to his father John’s “Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds.” Both songs were inspired by Julian’s classmate Lucy Vodden.

Today I dedicate, this and her favorite song, to my Lucy. So long my best friend. I miss you so much! We Love You!

